The Town of Timberville boasts a rich and extensive history in the Shenandoah Valley. One of the reasons many residents display great pride in their Town. Before there was any resemblance of a town, there were two forts. The first was located just west of the current town, on Fort Run near Simmers’ Garage and was in existence in 1744. The second fort was located near the Bank of the Shenandoah River, near what is commonly known as the Otto Zigler house, but was torn down in 1880. In 1750, a log house was constructed on the same property; this building still stands today.